Database Selector Dialog Box

The Database Selector dialog box lets you connect to your studio's central database when working on Harmony Server.

NOTE

When you connect to the database, you cannot create new scenes directly from Harmony. The available scenes must have been already created using the Control Center module.

NOTE

For tasks related to this dialog box, see Connecting to the Database in Harmony Server

Parameter

Description

Environments

Lets you select the scene's environment (project, movie).

Jobs

Lets you select the scene's job (episode, sequence).

Scenes

Lets you select the scene.

Get rights to modify the scene

Allows you to modify the selected version of the scene as well as to manage and overwrite other versions. Other users will not be able to open a different version of the scene until you close the scene.

Get rights to modify the scene version

Allows you to modify the currently selected scene version only. Unless the Get rights to modify the scene option is also checked, you will not be able to change other versions of the scene. This allows other users to modify different versions of the scene while you are working on the selected version.

Get rights to modify all scene assets

Automatically gets the rights to modify all of the scene's assets, locking other users from making changes to them until you close the scene. This means that you will have the rights to modify all the scene's versions, drawings, palettes, its palette list, but not its library folder. If this option is unchecked, drawings and palettes will be locked unless you unlock them manually. This can allow another user to work on the scene's drawings and palettes in Harmony Paint while you are working on the scene's timing or staging in Harmony.

Cache scene assets locally

Downloads the scene's drawings to your computer before opening the scene. Harmony will then load the drawings from your computer during the session, instead of loading them from their original location over the network. This can significantly increase performance, especially with resource-heavy scenes.

When you save your scene, the updated drawings will be uploaded automatically to the database, so you do not have to re-upload them manually.

NOTE If this option is checked, it may take a while to download all of the scene's assets when opening a particularly heavy scene.

Version

If you saved different versions of a scene, this lets you select one to open—see About Saving in Harmony Stand Alone.