User Guide > Timing > Exposure > Adjusting Exposure > Moving > Toggle Inserting / Overwriting

Enabling or Disabling Overwriting Exposures and Keyframes During Drag and Drop

You can change the way the Timeline behaves when you drag and drop a selection of keyframes or drawings with the Overwrite Exposure and Keyframes during Drag and Drop preference. When this preference is enabled, dragging and dropping drawings and keyframes in the Timeline view will overwrite the drawings and keyframes between the selection and the destination, as if the selection "wiped" everything on the way to the destination. This behavior is more similar to the one observed when manipulating keyframes in Adobe Animate. If disabled, dragging and dropping a selection in the timeline will simply remove the keyframes and drawings from the source, and overwrite the destination with them, leaving anything else unaffected.

You can set this mode in two places: the Timeline toolbar and the Preferences dialog box.