User Guide > Project Creation > About Saving

About Saving

It is important to regularly save your scene. As you make changes to a scene, an asterisk (*) appears in the title bar beside the scene name to indicate that the scene contains unsaved changes.

To save the current state of a scene as another scene, you can use the Save As command. The Save As window prompts you to give a new name and choose a different location to this scene before saving it. This will create a complete scene directory for the new scene. The Save As command is not available in Harmony Server.

When you use Harmony Server and work in a scene on the database, there are many choices and options available when you save your work. Specifically, the Advanced Save dialog lets you do the following:

  • Save the scene as the current version.
  • Save different versions representing different stages of the production of your scene.
  • Save different versions representing different scene setups.
  • Choose specific assets that you want to save, such as drawings or palettes.

You might want to save some specific aspects of your scene or save a new version. The Advance Save feature allows you to do this. Once you have chosen the components to save, you will conclude the procedure by following the instructions in the section. All the specific components that are selected throughout the different tabs of the Advanced Save dialog box will be saved.