Edit Menu

The Edit menu lets you repeat and undo actions, cut/copy/paste selected objects, select and manipulate objects, work with symbols, and access the Preferences dialog box.

Command Description

Undo

Removes the last change made to your project. Harmony supports multiple undo, so you can undo changes you made in the order you made them.

Redo

Redoes an operation you have undone. This command is active only after you use the Undo command.

Cut

Removes selected objects. You can then paste the object or its properties to another object.

Copy

Copies selected objects and properties.

Paste

Places an object you cut or copied into the location you select in a view.

Paste Special

Opens the Paste Special dialog box which lets you determine how templates and symbols are imported in the Timeline view.

There are advanced paste options for drawings, timings, keyframes, layers, as well as palettes and symbols.

Paste Special Again

Pastes new drawings with the previous Paste Special settings.

Paste Cycle

Cycles a portion of an animation. You can increase or decrease the number of cycles to paste and select a type of cycle: Normal, Reverse, Forward-Reverse and Reverse-Forward.

Paste Reverse

Reverses the timing of drawings or keyframes in range of selection after copying.

Delete

Removes selected objects.

Select All

Selects all drawing objects in the current drawing window in the Drawing, Timeline and Camera views. This helps you manage multiple objects as one when moving them.

Deselect All

Deselects all selected objects in the Drawing and Camera views.

Invert Selection

Deselects the currently selected items and selects all other items that were not selected. For example, if some lines are selected in a drawing, this command will deselect them and select any other lines in the drawing that were not selected.

Auto-Apply

Automatically applies changes you make to a property window or dialog box. Harmony applies the modification automatically and displays the result in the Camera view. When working on a heavy scene, it is useful to turn off this option.If you want to always work in Auto-Apply mode, you can deselect the Auto-Apply option in the Preferences dialog box (General tab). Then, each time you start Harmony, the Auto-Apply mode will be off. You must click the Apply button to see any modifications.

Create Symbol

Creates a symbol from selected drawing elements in the Drawing or Camera view or a layer or cells in the Timeline view.

Expand Symbol

Extracts a symbol's contents and places it on the root timeline. Its contents will be copied and inserted into the root timeline. The symbol will not be removed from the Timeline view once it is expanded.

The symbol's layers will be parented to it in case you created motions and transformations on the drawing layer that contain the symbol. Breaking the hierarchy could result in the loss of any scaling and animation you may have created.

Duplicate Selected Symbol

Creates a duplicate of a selected symbol. If other symbols are nested inside the new symbol, they are not duplicated. If you modify them, the original and other instances will also be modified.

Create Drawing from Drawing Selection

Breaks a character into its main body parts. There is no need to create any layers prior to this process. Make sure your model is well centered and sized in the Camera view.

Clone: Drawings Only

Creates a copy of the drawings in the selected layer in the Timeline view or column in the Xsheet view. The timing it not copied.

Clone: Drawings and Timing

Creates a copy of the drawings and their timings in the selected layer in the Timeline view or column in the Xsheet view.

Duplicate

Duplicates a layer to have a copy of the drawings that are independent from the original ones, as well as an independent timing (exposure). When you need the drawings to be modified independently, you will want to duplicate the layer instead of cloning it.

Merge

There are two methods of merging drawings.

You can merge selected drawings in adjacent elements. The columns and layers will be left intact, and each new merged drawing will reside in the frames of the left-most column or lower layer.
You can merge elements. All drawings will be merged. Unused columns and layers will be deleted, but the original drawing files are still accessible.

Group

Group

Groups selected drawing objects in the Camera or Drawing view.

Ungroup

Ungroups a selected group of drawing objects in the Camera or Drawing view.

Edit Drawing Mode

When the Auto-Get Rights to Modify Drawings option is selected in the Preferences dialog box (General tab), the system automatically gets the rights to modify drawings when you select a drawing. Otherwise, you must manually get the rights to modify drawings.

Edit Palette List Mode

When the Auto-Get Rights to Modify Palette option is selected in the Preferences dialog box (General tab), the system automatically gets the rights to modify palettes and palette lists when you select a colour from a palette. Otherwise, you must manually get the rights to modify a palette or palette list.

Get Rights to Modify Drawing

Manually releases the rights to modify a selected drawing.

Release Rights to Modify Drawing

Manually releases rights to modify a selected drawing.

Force Release Rights to Modify Drawing

This option is always available even if the Get Rights to Modify All Scene Assets option is not selected in the Database Selector dialog box.

Preferences

Opens the Preferences dialog box where you can set your preferences for Harmony.