Control Center > Web Control Center > Managing Scenes > Checking Out or Checking In a Scene

Checking Scenes In and Out

It is important to check out a scene before working on it. If you have downloaded a scene to work on and forgot to perform a checkout, other users can access and modify the scene on the server which would cause conflicts with your work when you upload the scene later. In the Web Control Center, you can check out the scene even if you have started to modify it. Once you check out a scene, others can only access a read-only copy.

When you are finished working on a scene, you must upload it to the database and check the scene back in.

NOTE: Remember that even if you forget to check out a scene, you can still perform partial updates to the scene in the database when you use the Update Database Scene command (File menu). This could cause conflicts with other users. For more information on partially updating scenes, see Partial Scene Updates.