Managing Jobs

Within each environment is a list of jobs that contains all the segments for your animated sequence. If you are creating a weekly television series called The Show, you could name your job show_ep_06 (the_show would be the name of your environment).

If each episode is composed of 100 animated shots, each job would contain 100 scenes.

Each job must have a unique name. Two jobs cannot have the same name, even if they appear in two different environments, because all the jobs are in the same folder on the server.

As you complete your animation project, you can update a job's status to reflect its progress in the overall production. You can indicate a job as being in production or not. If a job is in production, other modules can still access this job. If a job is no longer in production, it means the job is completed. The Harmony database still has all the job's components (scenes, elements, drawings), but the job neither appears nor is accessible from the Harmony applications.

In most cases, a job is no longer in production after it has been finalized (inked, painted, rendered) and transferred to a medium, such as Blu-ray, or sent to post-production. However, if you need to continue working on a job, you can revert its status at any time.

Before sending a job's scenes to be vectorized or rendered, you can set their priority level for the processing queue. Increasing the priority of a job makes the system process it before other jobs in the queue. For example, if job B is before job A in the queue, you can change the priority, so job A is processed first.

Changing a job's priority does not affect the vectorizing or rendering of jobs already sent to the queue. It will only affect jobs that are sent after the priorities were changed.

When you no longer need a job, you can delete it. Doing so will permanently remove the following:

Database information associated with the selected job
Palettes stored under the selected job

Before you delete a job:

Make sure no one else is currently using the job. Failure to do this may result in file corruption and loss of your work.
Wait until everyone is offline. This ensures no one can open the data files while you delete them.
IMPORTANT: You cannot archive a job by deleting it. To archive a job, export first and save it to a secure location to be stored permanently.
NOTE: You cannot delete a job if it still contains scenes.