Start Project > Saving a Scene

Saving a Scene

It is important to regularly save your scene. As you make changes to a scene, an asterisk (*) appears in the title bar beside the scene name to indicate that the scene contains unsaved changes.

To save the current state of a scene as another scene, you can use the Save As command. The Save As window prompts you to give a new name and choose a different location to this scene before saving it. This will create a complete scene directory for the new scene.

It is quite frequent, when working on a scene, to try out different timings, effects, camera motions or parameters to see which one will work best. Harmony allows you to save a new version of your scene. It is really important to note that the drawings and palettes are the same between ALL the scene versions. You can modify the timing, effects, parameters and camera motion, but if you modify the drawings, they will be changed everywhere.

You can also automatically save your work. Refer to the Preferences guide to learn more about this function.

Harmony allows the use of plugins. It's possible that you would receive a scene which uses a plugin from a studio or another user. If you do not have this plugin installed on your machine, you might loose data or get syntax errors when saving a new version. By default, there is a preference enabled preventing you from saving a scene containing a plugin you don't have causing syntax errors. The scene automatically opens in Read-Only mode. If this behaviour doesn't suit you, you can disable the preference.