Control Center > Control Center Module > Managing Harmony Users

Managing Harmony Users

In an animation studio, there are usually several people using Harmony who will probably be assigned different tasks, such as ink and paint or compositing. Normally, you should create a different user for each one. This way, the person assigned to ink and paint will only have access to the Paint module and not to other functions that are not relevant to their work.

Anyone who uses Harmony must have a login name in order to run any of the modules. The Harmony login is independent from the computer session login.

By default, only the usabatch and BATCH users are created. However, you should not use them for your staff. These should be kept for the Toon Boom Harmony Server when performing background operations, such as batch processing.

The User List dialog box lists all the users and their details, including: user name, first and last names, and user type. The buttons at the bottom of the dialog box let you add, delete or modify the list of users.

These are the different modules and applications in which a user can log in:

Control Center module
Stage module
Paint module
Xsheet module
Scan module
Play module
Draw module
Sketch module

All Harmony users must have their name on the user list to log in to any application. The system uses the login to track activities; it is not a security lockout.

Each login also has a user "type" assigned to it which allows access to only some of the Harmony modules.

As your studio network grows and evolves, you may need to delete old or obsolete user profiles from your system. After you delete a user profile, the person who used that profile will no longer be able to access Harmony.

You cannot delete yourself from the user list. If you accidentally delete a name, you must follow the procedures for adding a user to get the name back into the system.

You can modify the user profiles at any time to update the user information.

You can only change other user profiles. If you log in using your personalized login name, you will not be able to modify your own user profile.

To change your own user profile, login as usabatch (the default user).